jump to navigation

Note to self… April 18, 2006

Posted by BiB in Uncategorized.
trackback
Fiddling around to get the Cyrillic stickers onto my laptop this very evening – effing and blinding was kept to a minimum, but my keyboard does now look a bit like a war-zone, it has to be said – I came to a conclusion… As the quest for my alternative ‘career’ goes on, I have ruled out restorer of ancient churches and monuments involving tasks like going over Prince Albert with gold leaf. That sort of thing. My fingers were as steady as an alcoholic’s who’s just found a surprise bottle of wine tucked away at the back of a cupboard. Hopeless. Oh well. The search continues…

Comments»

1. patroclus - April 19, 2006

You don’t want to be a restorer of ancient churches – look what happened to that chappie in Don’t Look Now.

2. daggi - April 19, 2006

Is there something I should know about here? Is Don’t Look Now a book or a film? It’s urgent!

3. BiB - April 19, 2006

Daggi, it could be this, but you might need to get on to Pats for more info. Don’t say your alternative job in the provinces involves gold-leaf, chisels and spooky old churches…

4. Bowleserised - April 19, 2006

“going over Prince Albert with gold leaf”

I read that one *all wrong*

5. Wyndham - April 19, 2006

I was going to say something witty about Don’t Look Now, but P. has beaten me to it, as usual. Mark her words!

6. BiB - April 19, 2006

B., thank god you’re back. Berlin just wasn’t the same without you. I think I can speak for Daggi too on this count.

I mildly amused myself by telling my stunningly handsome, kind, sweet, innocent German friend – the one I did a bit of binge-drinking with a post or two back – about the origin of the Prince Albert. Or is that story apocryphal? About Vicky’s hubby and his extraordinarily large appendage? Might be an urban myth. He only brightened up when I reminded him Albert was German. He had a swelling – boom, boom – of pride at that point.

Wynders, Pats, is this film coming highly recommended, then? Or is it pants?

7. patroclus - April 19, 2006

It’s pretty good, as 1973-era psychological-horror-thrillers go. Came free with the Observer the other week, too. The week after I bought it on DVD, in fact. Typical.

More details here.

8. patroclus - April 19, 2006

Ah, I see that BiB had linked to it already. Anyway, Donald Sutherland’s character is restoring an old church in Venice. Things don’t work out all that well for him…

9. Bowleserised - April 19, 2006

Sadly I think the piercing, at least, is an urban myth. But he could still have been a big boy, and Vicky a size queen. We’ll never know.
It’s lovely to be back too, though Daggi might not think so when she finds out I totally forgot the digestives.

10. BiB - April 19, 2006

Oh I’m sure she’ll cope admirably without the biccies. Mind you, some sort of hummus outlet might not be a bad idea in Berlin. Where can you buy the stuff here? OK, Kaisers, but it’s new. Probably just as well I’ve gone off it, or forgotten I was ever on it. Awfully fattening. Is the hummus thing in London full of rotund types with resigned looks on their faces stinking of garlic?

11. leon - April 24, 2006

It’s not really, um, very full at all.

Why anyone thought a ‘hummus bar’ in Soho might be a good idea when you can a) get perfectly good hummus (plus any number of other things) at Gaby’s on the Charing Cross Road, or at any Middle Eastern place from the Edgware Road to Stoke Newington, or b) go and eat some Japanese food on Brewer Street instead is utterly beyond me.

12. BiB - April 28, 2006

Set for early closure then, this venture? A restaurant which constantly changes ownership and name exists on our utterly uninteresting street. Couldn’t be a worse location. Amusingly, its latest incarnation is called Déjà Vu. Quite…


Leave a Reply

