jump to navigation

Shreds April 6, 2006

Posted by BiB in Uncategorized.
trackback
OK, this is lazy. It’s really only an excuse to upload SOMETHING, anything, for the sake of republishing the blog and hoping I get an accidental couple of clicks from the ‘next blog’ button at a blog where someone writes about what classes they’re taking this semester and how sophomore Math really sucks.

But I thought this Japanese gent’s reaction at being asked to stop browsing magazines in 7-Eleven was rather classy. Went away, got a chainsaw, threatened to chop the staff to shreds, then left the chainsaw running and carried on reading till the police arrived. OK, an overreaction, perhaps, but I can’t help being a little bit sympathetic.

Perhaps this might be an appropriate time to tell you I have proof, almost, thanks to a test chez Bowleserised, that I am not an autist. Fuck, that’s a relief.

But whose side are you on? The (potential) shredder’s or the shreddees’?

Comments»

1. Geoff - April 6, 2006

Bah. Meanwhile the same test told me I am autistic. 34! Load of rubbish. Now let me get back to memorising that phone book…

2. daggi - April 6, 2006

I’ll sit on the fence with regard to this one. I have quite a lot of understanding with the man-with-chainsaw (at least he left it outside the shop), but I can also heavily sympathise with the very worried staff. I wonder if any of my customers are about to stab me sometimes, but happily I don’t think they have a chain saw in their inside coat pockets.

3. daggi - April 6, 2006

By the way, is this BBC malarkey on tonight as well?

4. Wyndham - April 6, 2006

Depends what he was reading. If it was a magazine like What Kitchen I’d be very disappointed and a definite over-reaction. If it was Heat Magazine, I’d say “Hats off to you, sir!”

5. Bowleserised - April 6, 2006

It’s not the BBC. *sigh*, and it’s not on tonight, nor next week because Radio Free will be in London watching the Rachel Corrie play and then drinking gin. It’s a Stammtisch and it’s irregular…
Having worked in a bookshop (last year) and being a dedicated browser I don’t know which side to come down on either. There was nearly a fight at our tills one Sunday because we couldn’t officially sell books until the clock struck 11. That was fun.

6. Bren - April 7, 2006

I’d like to be a customer in that store.

7. BiB - April 13, 2006

Geoff, I refuse to believe you are an autist, although your blog is, admittedly, a touch quiet. Get unautistic on that blog.

Bren, you awful chainsaw-rubbernecker, you! Is Melbourne still stunning you with its wonderful politeness?

B., Daggi, do I sense neither of you majorly recommends a career selling books? I’m still debating internally whether I should get a proper job one of these millennia.

Or Wynders, maybe I’ll come and join you eating stodgy breakfasts in Kentish Town in a nice, long early retirement…


Leave a Reply

