jump to navigation

Why bother? February 14, 2006

Posted by BiB in Uncategorized.
trackback

No, no, no, not a misery post because I’m anticipating a non-avalanche of anonymous missives in the post later today. (Or are the postmen on strike?) Or because I’m in an anti-blog mood again. Or because I realised my home life was too odd when I went into the kitchen a few hours ago and saw the Russian sanding – yes, sanding. I didn’t know we kept sand-paper lying around – a chopping board frantically. No, none of those things. It’s a paaaaaaaaasitive ‘why bother?’ It’s a why-bother-your-arse-looking-for-any-other-music-to-play-ever when you’re in possession of ‘A Fine Romance’ by Billie Holiday? I mean, what’s the use of searching? This IS perfection. Fantastic voice. Fantastic range of emotions. Suitable for weddings, funerals, bar mitzvahs. Suitable for groovy friends (if you have any), boring friends, mothers, neighbours. Suitable for dinner time, breakfast time. Suitable in company. Suitable alone. Suitable loud. Suitable quiet. My god, Billie, but you’re suitable, which sounds more like damning with faint praise than it ought to.

I mean, I have actually been amusedly distracted by this (the song, not the video) this evening but only because I was having an amused reminisce at two adults enjoying a children’s video recently while the children stared bemusedly on and looked around for dangerous, sharp objects to play with. But I couldn’t put it on if my mother was coming to dinner. Or if Madonna was popping over. Or if I was cooking elevenses for a rugby team, say. Whereas Billie would suit all three.

I challenge anyone to name me an album with a better collection of blinding songs on than this one. Go on. I dare you.

Comments»

1. lukeski - February 14, 2006

Dusty – Dusty in Memphis
Marvin Gaye – What’s Going On

2. BiB - February 14, 2006

Hmmmmmmm. I mean, I know it’s your birthday and all that, and that it’s Valentine’s Day, so I should be being charitable, and of course I don’t have a clue what’s on those albums, although I could well quiver with glee at both singers’ voices, but do those alba have 16 songs (or more) of UTTER brilliance? With not a moment of mediocrity? Not a hint of wank anywhere? Really? Are you sure? Well, I’ll have to take your word for it.

Have a glorious, musical birthday and a sexy, romantic St. Val’s.

3. Wyndham the Triffid - February 14, 2006

Those are both good albums, particularly the Marvin Gaye. I would also add the mellifluous charms of Julie London’s The Liberty Years – the woman for whom the word “dame” was surely invented – and, of course, Sinatra’s Songs For Swinging Lovers. Both albums travelled with me up and down New Zealand once, so on that score, Bib, you’re a tad late.

4. BiB - October 16, 2006

Don’t know Julie London. Must explore. Must explore.


Leave a Reply

