jump to navigation

К Павлику January 7, 2006

Posted by BiB in Uncategorized.
trackback

Well, don’t get frightened by the dedication, Pavvers. I know you’re a happily married man and all that. But as you’ve kindly reminded me of another Pushkin gem, I think it only fair you get a bit of a dedication.

I think we old SSEESites are getting wistful as we unbatten the hatches and surrender gracefully to middle age. Of course I’ve got a few years on you all, age-wise, but having had a visit from a couple of fellow SSEESites for New Year, I must say we had a pretty glorious time, both straightforwardly having fun but, of course, also having a heavenly old where-are-they-now-type gossip about everyone and anyone that sprang to mind. (I’m happy, if that’s the right word, to say that, what with the advancing years and our soaring maturity levels, the tragic was remembered with due gravitas along with the jollity.) School days being the best years of your life strikes me as being shit, but might university years – depends if you like what you’re studying, of course, or if you went to university – have a genuine stake to that claim? I suppose that early adulthood period is pretty vital, personality-wise. And my behaviour with anyone from that period remains utterly 19-year-old. Which is wonderful, of course.

As wonderful as this poem is, and as glad as I am to see Pushkers getting an airing elsewhere – see what I mean about the wistfulness? – I hope its words don’t actually apply to anyone at the moment. Well, the rediscovery of a lost love is undoubtedly a wonderful thing, but I hope we all enter 2006 with unheavy hearts and with “the genius of pure beauty” already within our grasp.

К ***

Я помню чудное мгновение:
Передо мной явилась ты,
Как мимолетное видение,
Как гений чистой красоты.

В томленьях грусти безнадежной,
В тревогах шумной суеты,
Звучал мне долго голос нежный
И снились милые черты.

Шли годы. Бурь порыв мятежный
Рассеял прежние мечты,
И я забыл твой голос нежный,
Твои небесные черты.

В глуши, во мраке заточенья
Тянулись тихо дни мои
Без божества, без вдохновенья,
Без слез, без жизни, без любви.

Душе настало пробужденье:
И вот опять явилась ты,
Как мимолетное видение,
Как гений чистой красоты.

И сердце бьется в упоенье,
И для него воскресли вновь
И божество, и вдохновенье,
И жизнь, и слезы, и любовь.

Comments»

1. pdberger - January 7, 2006

Thank you Dezik, you just made a bright weekend even brighter! Pavlik.

2. BiB - January 7, 2006

Pavvers, from the brightness of the weekend, I can deduce only one thing: you are, I assume, pregnant.


Leave a Reply

