jump to navigation

Momentary lapse December 17, 2005

Posted by BiB in Uncategorized.
trackback

…into politics. I know, I know. I said I wouldn’t. But the beeb seems to be touting Misha 2% as a serious political rival to Putin. (Nothing in the Russian service, admittedly.) It’s funny to see Kasyanov portrayed in the good-guy light as he was famed for being so brazenly corrupt in the past. So it’s interesting to see his PR transformation happening before our very eyes, and he can even hold his own in an English-language interview and say all the right things about how Russia is becoming less and less democratic and freedoms are disappearing under Putin. Even if he was staggeringly beautiful as a young man, I doubt this has much bearing on matters and I wonder what sort of standing he really has in Russia. Could he be a real potential presidential candidate? I’ve moaned about Kasyanov before, but anyone who gets the Putin Youth (note the Soviet .su, not Russian, website address) (maybe this was only because .ru was taken, but I doubt it) protesting against him might be worth his salt after all.

Comments»

1. I hate my neighbours - December 17, 2005

Kasyanov wasn’t *that* beautiful, at least not in that picture. It’s not as if Berlin’s short of young men with short hair who like to wear uniforms (though I can’t remember the last time I saw anyone in a Soviet army uniform – here), is it?

I believe there are a number of ‘établissments’ near to your favourite cinema which are heavily populated by this look…

2. Wyndham the Triffid - December 17, 2005

“Staggeringly beautiful.” Yeah, if you go for the budding serial killer/war criminal look. Those cruel, thin lips went out years ago. But then again, as we all know, Putin more resembles Dobby The House Dwarf.

3. Broke in Berlin - December 17, 2005

IHMN, you’re absolutely right that there are venues frequented by men with said look within very close range of the cinema. But, honest guv, what I appreciated, at least consciously, in this photo of Misha 2%, were purely his physical attributes. Or that’s what I’m telling myself. I’m a great believer in hair, and slightly loathe the too short look, and Russian soldiers only fill me with fear (although they can look a touch on the dishy side once in a while, I’ll admit). It’s the starvation that does it…

In any case, I plan to go to a gay Russian disco tomorrow here in Berlin so I’ll see if there are any hungry homosexual soldiers who look the part. I somehow doubt it.

Wynders, you’ve got me worried now that I go in for (admittedly only budding) serial-killers and war criminals. I am going to reorientate immediately, marry a nice gal and settle me down in Royal Leamington Spa. I was internally categorising him rather as “bit of rough”, but am concerned that your categorisation may be spot on…

I’d never seen Dobby before. You’re right, there is an uncanny resemblance to Vladimir Vladimirovich. But Dobby looks a far gentler type of creature.


Leave a Reply

