jump to navigation

Religion November 20, 2005

Posted by BiB in Uncategorized.
trackback

By clicking from blog to blog to blog to blog today, I eventually ended up at the Belief-o-Matic, an automated quiz analysing your faith (or lack thereof) which, “assumes no legal liability for the ultimate fate of your soul”. I always succumb to these quizzes, even if one did send me dashing to my beloved for reassurance after it told me I was utterly barking and didn’t have a single saving grace (and another told me which way to vote in the European elections last year. I ignored its advice). Apparently, I shape up like this in the which-faith-are-you-closest-to stakes, and the results aren’t at all surprising…

1. Unitarian Universalism (100%)
2. Secular Humanism (92%)
3. Mainline to Liberal Christian Protestants (88%)
4. Liberal Quakers (86%)
5. Nontheist (78%)
6. Theravada Buddhism (70%)
7. Christian Science (Church of Christ, Scientist) (58%)
8. Neo-Pagan (58%)
9. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons) (57%)
10. Bahá’í Faith (54%)
11. Taoism (51%)
12. Reform Judaism (44%)
13. Jehovah’s Witness (42%)
14. New Thought (42%)
15. Mainline to Conservative Christian/Protestant (41%)
16. New Age (39%)
17. Sikhism (38%)
18. Mahayana Buddhism (34%)
19. Scientology (33%)
20. Orthodox Quaker (29%)
21. Hinduism (20%)
22. Seventh Day Adventist (20%)
23. Jainism (18%)
24. Eastern Orthodox (15%)
25. Islam (15%)
26. Orthodox Judaism (15%)
27. Roman Catholic (15%)

I did get a little quiver of joy at seeing Catholicism – the faith I was christened into when three weeks old and which I left, officially, over 30 years later – at the very bottom of the list, but I then realised, crestfallen, that it’s not the faith I’m exclusively least linked to. It’s only bottom of the list in alphabetical order and is in fact in a four-way tie with Orthodox Judaism, Islam and Eastern Orthodoxy. A vague shame about the latter. I often thought/think that if I do ever (re)discover God one day – I’m secretly terrified this might happen – I wouldn’t mind dashing for Orthodoxy, purely on aesthetic grounds. The churches and the chanting haunt me.

It’s all religion today. Having also clicked here on my web-wanderings, I ended up here, which, while obviously poking fun at the religious, also, for me, makes a serious point, i.e. that, even as an atheist, of course many of my morals are very closely tied up in the religion that shaped the world I grew up in. And I’m perfectly happy for that to be the case.

Comments»

1. lukeski - November 20, 2005

1. Unitarian Universalism (100%)
2. Secular Humanism (97%)
3. Mainline to Liberal Christian Protestants (94%)
4. Liberal Quakers (86%)
5. Nontheist (75%)
6. Neo-Pagan (58%)
7. Christian Science (Church of Christ, Scientist) (55%)
8. Theravada Buddhism (55%)
9. Bah�’� Faith (51%)
10. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons) (51%)
11. New Age (46%)
12. Reform Judaism (44%)
13. Taoism (43%)
14. New Thought (42%)
15. Scientology (34%)
16. Jehovah’s Witness (33%)
17. Mainline to Conservative Christian/Protestant (33%)
18. Orthodox Quaker (26%)
19. Sikhism (26%)
20. Mahayana Buddhism (25%)
21. Seventh Day Adventist (8%)
22. Eastern Orthodox (5%)
23. Islam (5%)
24. Jainism (5%)
25. Orthodox Judaism (5%)
26. Roman Catholic (5%)
27. Hinduism (0%)

2. Broke in Berlin - November 20, 2005

You wicked, godless heretic! Although I’m now worried that the site must be a rallying call for Unitarian Universalism, which I’d of course never heard of, but seems to be a vaguely structured religion, with god and all. I don’t know why I didn’t end up more nontheist, einfach. Our results are very similar – I initially thought you’d resent me my own results – but I see you are less religious than I am. You are actually 0% something, whereas I am at least 15% everything. This must be due to our difference in age. You’ll catch me up eventually, no doubt, but remind me not to go to India with you in the meantime. I’ll constantly have to explain your disrespectful behaviour to the locals with endless, “But don’t you understand? He is 0% Hindu!”

3. lukeski - November 20, 2005

I quite fancied Taoism – I do chi-gung, and I like kung-fu movies. The high ratings for Scientology, Quakers and Mormons also worry me. The 5% Catholic is also concerning – although I did feel slightly guilty when doing the quiz. And I have an aversion to nuns. And, what is Bahá’í Faith? And why aren’t the Moonies represented? Or the Jedi (now a recognised religion in the UK, I believe)? Or Satanists?

4. Broke in Berlin - November 20, 2005

Dunno much about the Bahá’í, except that they have their main… what? Temple? in Haifa and that it all started in Iran. David Kelly was a follower. Quakerism’s fine, as far as I know. My ex’s family were mostly it before converting to Catholicism 100 years or so ago, which has always made me have a soft spot for it, and I also lived for a while above their meeting place on the longest street in Paris.


Leave a Reply

