jump to navigation

Places November 3, 2005

Posted by BiB in Uncategorized.
trackback

There’s a touch of booze-fuelled lugubriousness occurring over at the booksellers’ gaff at the mo. But I’m happy to see it’s outward-looking lugubriousness. So much better than the other kind. It’s got Liukchik wistfully thinking of places he wants to be/see/go to. I have lugubriously complained about Berlin on more than one occasion, but have tried to convince myself that place isn’t actually that important a factor in contentedness. (I mean, obviously it is a bit. I’m sure I’d be utterly mis in Kandahar or Bangui or Stoke-on-Trent (I was utterly mis in Stoke-on-Trent).) In any case, this doesn’t mean you aren’t allowed to like some places more than others, of course. And I think my favourite place on earth, a place that never fails to inspire and thrill, even having walked to get to it from Waterloo Station through that rabbit-warren of tunnels near that round cinema, is Waterloo Bridge. What a view. In both directions. London in all its glory. Wonderful, beautiful, pulsating, chaotic, heavenly London – under a wispy summer sky, or (more usually) a tupperware-white one or lit up brilliantly at night. That Wordsworth geezer was on the wrong bridge…

Comments»

1. lukeski - November 3, 2005

One of my favourites, too, especillay after a drink or six. Even makes me like the Kinks and look for Terry and Julie.

2. BiB - October 15, 2006

I’m too dim to get the connection. The Kinks? Terry Scott? Julie Burchill? Waterloo Bridge? Explain.


Leave a Reply

