jump to navigation

Eurovision Ping Pong October 24, 2005

Posted by BiB in Uncategorized.
trackback

Now far be it from me to make you think I have a personality disorder, but I’m still obsessed with all things Eurovision. It’ll be over by Christmas, I’m sure. I’m awfully happy to see that my humble efforts in spreading some funky Hebrovision cheer have met with Lukeski’s approval, but what’s this about a Norwegian song being better than any of my Israeli entries? I refuse to believe it. Well, in sticking with my ‘No Goy trash’ policy as far as the Eurovision is concerned, I’ve come across another Israeli gem. A total, out-and-out, corkingly good (in a bad sort of way) tune. Yes, it’s that link again, then the same lateral thinking test to see if you can find the Israel in Eurovision link, and then click on the entry for the year 2000. I’m guessing they weren’t taking themselves too seriously, Ping Pong, and they managed to get disowned by the Israeli Eurovision… what? Ministry? …well, the folks in charge, anyway, by insisting on waving Israeli and Syrian flags together at the end of their performance. And the lyrics,

All day long I’m sitting in the kibbutz
Another cigar and it feels a little sour
All the time just depression and boredom
If I won’t finish, it will end up in a boom

Oh oh happy…

All day long wars on television
And in Australia floods have begun again
Here comes Sunday’s depression
I want, I want a cucumber

Oh oh happy…

aren’t majorly earnest. But it’s all a jolly old piss-take and, in a gay way, I fancy the blonde chick. Now that I’m Ping Pong’s nambawan fan, I’ve come across this video, so it would appear they’re still going strong (but I don’t fancy the blonde so much now that she’s gone dark-haired) and there appears to be a London connection…

Comments»

1. lukeski - October 24, 2005

There is also a Finnish (I think) entry I adore from the late 70’s-early 80’s with an inordinately fat man dressed in classic Suomi-wear of the period, but I haven’t been able to find the performer, song, or a video clip – my Finnish is less than non-existent.

2. Broke in Berlin - October 24, 2005

Saatana! I’ll get hunting straight away, although the Suoms don’t have a convenient page just to click on straight from the Euro website, as the Heebs did. Quick bit of Euro-triv: the Finns have never won.

3. Broke in Berlin - October 24, 2005

Could it be the 1976 entry viewable here, yet, alas, without audio or video?

4. lukeski - October 24, 2005

Image here. Along with French obsessives.

5. lukeski - October 24, 2005

Lyrics here and here. How many Eurovision sites are there?

6. BiB - October 15, 2006

Not nearly enough, though very many.


Leave a Reply

